The borders were closed as of 12.01 am today and apply to all travel to Queensland by air, sea, rail or road.

Only three roads into the sunshine state will remain open, and there are police checkpoints in place to stop people driving through.

There was traffic chaos on the border this morning as hundreds of cars lined up to cross into Queensland.

Anyone to enter the state will be required to apply for a permit which can be accessed online.

The list of exemptions for people allowed to travel into Queensland include border crossings by emergency and health services, essential freight transport and those living in border communities.

State Disaster Coordinator Deputy Commissioner Steve Gollschewski said motorists with an exemption to the shutdown would be provided with a “visible sticker or pass” so they can cross the border hassle-free.

But the exemptions are not yet available because a website whereby people can apply for one has not yet been set up, Gollschewski said.

“People can expect very, very long delays in this,” he said on Wednesday.

“My plea to the community is to show patience.”

Anyone who enters Queensland for non-essential purposes must self-isolate for 14 days.

The new restrictions are in place to discourage non-essential travel and slow the spread of coronavirus following the death of Queensland man, Garry Kirtenfeldt, overnight.

The 68-year-old had an underlying medical condition and contracted the virus on board the Royal Caribbean’s Voyager of the Seas cruise ship which docked in Sydney last week.

NSW, Victoria and the ACT are the only jurisdictions which haven’t closed their borders amid the pandemic.