Prime Minister Scott Morrison has also confirmed that the existing ban on foreign nationals travelling from China and Iran to Australia has been extended for another week.

The new bans will be in place until Saturday, March 14, and the government will review the situation within a week to decide whether the travel restrictions need to be extended further.

Morrison said travellers from Italy would face “advanced screening measures”, meaning they will be asked more questions at check-in and have their temperatures monitored on arrival in Australia.

Meanwhile, foreign nationals who have been in mainland China, Iran and South Korea are not allowed into Australia for 14 days from the time they left those countries.

Australian citizens and permanent residents will be able to enter Australia, but need to isolate themselves for a fortnight.